Who’s Who

Irish Rural Link is run by a small and dedicated core of professional staff members which aims at all times to drive forward the rural agenda, aid our members and influence the various political levels on rural issues. They are supported by a network of voluntary Regional Development Offices across the country.

Seamus Boland Chief Executive Officer

Formerly manager of Tullamore Traveller Workshop, and Shannon Banks Workshop in Athlone, in 1995 he was appointed Regional Director of Midland Regional Youth Service. He became national Co-Ordinator of IRL in 2001. A member of the Carnegie Rural Commission, which examines rural issues in Great Britain and Ireland, he has recently been appointed to the board of Pobal. He serves on a number of National Development Plan monitoring committees and is a community and voluntary pillar representative on the National Economic and Social Council. He is a holder of a BSc in Rural and Community Development from NUI Maynooth.

Contact Seamus: seamus@irishrurallink.ie

Maria Pettit Finance / Office Manager.  email: maria@irishrurallink.ie

James Claffey NRN Manager.   Contact: james@irishrurallink.ie

Mary Keyes Cornally  Training Co-ordinator.  Contact: maryk@irishrurallink.ie

Louise Lennon Policy & Communications Officer. Contact: louise@irishrurallink.ie

Noel Kinahan, Research Assistant, Rural Community Banking. Contact: noel@irishrurallink.ie

Siobhan Kinahan, Research Assistant. Contact: siobhan@irishrurallink.ie

IRL Board

The staff of IRL are aided by an enthusiastic and experienced Executive Board who meet every month to direct the work of the organisation.

The Board members of Irish Rural Link are as follows:

  • Billy Murphy, Chairperson – County Wexford Partnership
  • Peter Brady, Secretary – Kilnaleck Community Council, Co. Cavan
  • Maria O’Gorman, Treasurer – Duagh Family Resource Centre, Co. Kerry
  • Marian Flannery, Women of the North West, Co. Mayo
  • Kieran McEntee, Kenagh Co-op, Co. Longford
  • Miriam McKenna, Meath Accessible Transport Project Ltd
  • Chris Uys, Abbeyleix Bog Project, Co. Laois
  • Pat Leogue, County Kildare Partnership
  • Michael Kenny, NUI Maynooth
  • Maureen Lally, Tochar Valley RCN, Co. Mayo
  • Gerald Quain, Ballyhoura Development Company, Co. Limerick
  • Dr. Maura Farrell, NUI Galway
  • Tara Farrell, Longford Women’s Link
  • Tom Lavin, Highwood Community Resource Centre, Sligo
  • Mary Ryan, TEAGASC, Co. Galway
  • Mary Keane, Rural transport Network

Posted on: October 21st, 2015 by IRL

Comments closed